Temperature Setting Fluctuation

Gomretat

New member
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Utah
Grill
Ironwood 885
I am a new Traeger owner but not new to smokers. I have the Ironwood 885. While smoking meats the temperature gauge frequently resets itself to 165. Happened yesterday 5 or 6 times and has already happened today with my turkey. What causes that to happen and what am I doing wrong.
 

primeone

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
737
Reaction score
226
Points
43
Location
Austin, TX
Grill
Ironwood 650
Welcome to the forum. I haven't had that issue either. What temp are you cooking at when it resets? What firmware version are you running?
 

CampWhatnot

Active member
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
380
Reaction score
94
Points
28
Location
Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Grill
Traeger Ironwood 650
Welcome! I haven't experienced that issue either.
 

bfletcher

Active member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
206
Reaction score
75
Points
28
Location
SW Ohio
Grill
I 885
Could you be experiencing power blips that would cause this, I wonder? Is there an outlet on another circuit you could try? Though, if it is power related there's nothing that says it can't be an issue within your Ironwood. I'm purely guessing at this.
 

CampWhatnot

Active member
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
380
Reaction score
94
Points
28
Location
Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Grill
Traeger Ironwood 650
If you loose power the smoker will shut down and not continue.
 

bfletcher

Active member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
206
Reaction score
75
Points
28
Location
SW Ohio
Grill
I 885
If you loose power the smoker will shut down and not continue.
Yeah but I once had a malfunctioning GFI outlet that resulted in odd behavior on some devices without fully losing power. This is probably not his issue, but could be one one of several troubleshooting steps.
 

CampWhatnot

Active member
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
380
Reaction score
94
Points
28
Location
Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Grill
Traeger Ironwood 650
Gfi's can malfunction and can result in lower voltage for sure which can cause issues to control boards. A bit unrelated but it's also a good idea to install a surge suppressor on your electrical panel to protect all your electronic devices and appliances.
 

bfletcher

Active member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
206
Reaction score
75
Points
28
Location
SW Ohio
Grill
I 885
A bit unrelated but it's also a good idea to install a surge suppressor on your electrical panel to protect all your electronic devices and appliances.

Yes! I have a couple UPS' for my desktop and server, and a surge protector outlet for the home entertainment system but I would love to have a whole house surge protector at the panel.
 

CampWhatnot

Active member
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
380
Reaction score
94
Points
28
Location
Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Grill
Traeger Ironwood 650
Yup they are worth the money and will protect all devices. Appliances and electronics are expensive to replace. I bought an Eaton whole house protector for about $80 Canadian on Amazon about 2 years ago. Always remember to attach it to the most top 2 breaker slots if you get one. Also make sure it is across both 120v phases for protection of both phases. Cheers.
 

Latest Discussions

Top