Traeger app problems and gripes

V0latyle

Reaction score
Grill
Silverton 620
Bought a Silverton 620 from Costco a few weeks ago. I'm brand new to pellet grills and smoking but I'm pretty tech savvy. I haven't had any problem joining the controller to my WiFi network or pairing it with the app. However, I've come across a couple issues that I'm wondering might be common:

* Timers and meat probe alarms only work on the controller itself. I can set them from the app, but I never get any notification or alarm on my phone. I've made sure notification permissions are enabled, but looking at my notification history, it doesn't look like the Traeger app has actually generated any. The beeper on the grill works fine. Are the notifications working for anyone else?

* Beyond using recipes, I haven't found a way to upload a custom recipe or cook cycle. Is this possible? You would think that using your phone for remote control, you'd be able to set whatever schedule you want - for example 200° for 3 hours, then automatically go to 400 for 30 minutes. If this isn't possible using the Traeger app, is there a third party solution available?

Bought a Silverton 620 from Costco a few weeks ago. I'm brand new to pellet grills and smoking but I'm pretty tech savvy. I haven't had any problem joining the controller to my WiFi network or pairing it with the app. However, I've come across a couple issues that I'm wondering might be common:

* Timers and meat probe alarms only work on the controller itself. I can set them from the app, but I never get any notification or alarm on my phone. I've made sure notification permissions are enabled, but looking at my notification history, it doesn't look like the Traeger app has actually generated any. The beeper on the grill works fine. Are the notifications working for anyone else?