Still can’t connect

Slgoss

New member
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
5
Points
3
Location
Brentwood, TN
Grill
Pro 575
Two calls, new wifi network, grill almost inside the closet with internet and countless reboots later CS is sending me a new control panel. Seems pretty easy to instal. Has anyone else gotten to this point?
 

Mike Akers

New member
Joined
Apr 10, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Texas
Grill
Timberline 1300
Two calls, new wifi network, grill almost inside the closet with internet and countless reboots later CS is sending me a new control panel. Seems pretty easy to instal. Has anyone else gotten to this point?
We have tried 3 controllers. Grill hasn’t worked for 2 months
 

PDXRJC

New member
Joined
Mar 14, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Oregon
Grill
PRO 575 Bronze
Two calls, new wifi network, grill almost inside the closet with internet and countless reboots later CS is sending me a new control panel. Seems pretty easy to instal. Has anyone else gotten to this point?
While waiting for TRAEGER to ship a new Wifire controller, I tried shutting down the 5ghz side of our WiFi router. The grill immediately connected and it's been smooth sailing since. It has downloaded two upgrades since. I now have a working grill and an extra controller!

I had a similar fail to connect issue with a different WiFi device and learned that trick from their customer service. Not sure what you've tried so far, hope this is of use.
 

Mike Akers

New member
Joined
Apr 10, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Texas
Grill
Timberline 1300
While waiting for TRAEGER to ship a new Wifire controller, I tried shutting down the 5ghz side of our WiFi router. The grill immediately connected and it's been smooth sailing since. It has downloaded two upgrades since. I now have a working grill and an extra controller!

I had a similar fail to connect issue with a different WiFi device and learned that trick from their customer service. Not sure what you've tried so far, hope this is of use.
 

Mike Akers

New member
Joined
Apr 10, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Texas
Grill
Timberline 1300
We had to use old router that was a 2.4. Our new router was a dynamic that used 2.4 and 5.0. Added old router to new. Uninstalled phone app and network connection. Reinstalled a few times and it finally worked. Thanks for the help.
 
OP
OP
S

Slgoss

New member
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
5
Points
3
Location
Brentwood, TN
Grill
Pro 575
Yes I had my internet provider create 2 networks a 2.4 and 5. Still wouldn’t connect. They say that’s been the biggest issue. I’m not sure any average joe like myself would know to change the frequency of their WiFi
 

AKD

New member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
San Pedro, CA
Grill
Timberline 1300
While waiting for TRAEGER to ship a new Wifire controller, I tried shutting down the 5ghz side of our WiFi router. The grill immediately connected and it's been smooth sailing since. It has downloaded two upgrades since. I now have a working grill and an extra controller!

I had a similar fail to connect issue with a different WiFi device and learned that trick from their customer service. Not sure what you've tried so far, hope this is of use.
how did you shut down the 5ghz side of router? thanks
 

davwhite

Active member
Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Messages
146
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Location
Australia
Grill
Pro 575
In my case my router tells me which is connected through system preferences, I can choose either freq. I have a Mac so if you do I could help you more. If not do a google search for "How to change router frequency"
 

AvnerBro

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Israel
Grill
Ironwood 650
I have the same issue. Tried several different WiFi networks at 2ghz, put the grill inside the kitchen, removed the iPhone app, deleted and forgot the grill WiFi network , always end up with failed to get certificate files at the end.

Please help
 
OP
OP
S

Slgoss

New member
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
5
Points
3
Location
Brentwood, TN
Grill
Pro 575
how did you shut down the 5ghz side of router? thanks

I had to call Comcast (internet provider) and it was a very quick fix. Now my router broadcasts our normal WiFi and a 2.4ghz I named “Traeger”. If your tech savvy I think it’s a quick fix, I’m not and they did it over the phone in 10 minutes
 
OP
OP
S

Slgoss

New member
Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
5
Points
3
Location
Brentwood, TN
Grill
Pro 575
I have the same issue. Tried several different WiFi networks at 2ghz, put the grill inside the kitchen, removed the iPhone app, deleted and forgot the grill WiFi network , always end up with failed to get certificate files at the end.

Please help

when I went through all the trouble shooting steps with customer service they decided to send me a new control panel. Im still under warranty, I don’t know if that apples for you
 

AvnerBro

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Israel
Grill
Ironwood 650
I have got a ubiquiti access point system where I can control which radios are on, introduce new networks, etc.
 

smokehouse

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Sunshine coast, Australia
Grill
pro780
how did you shut down the 5ghz side of router? thanks
check the bottom of the router, it may show you a web address that manages the router and it should also give you the admin name and password then just click through the tabs until you find which freq the router uses.

Note: I did this and it still does not work......
 

BadgerFan

New member
Joined
Mar 8, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Wisconsin
Grill
Silverton 620
Call Traeger customer service, I couldn't connect to the 5ghz and the guy walked me through on how to split it to the 2.4ghz, and voila, I was in business. It's frustrating when you think you're good to go and it won't connect because of this issue..
 

Latest Discussions

Top