Dry Brisket Advice

Aardvark

Reaction score
Being a newbie, I run into things I am puzzled by all the time. A couple of days ago I trimmed a 6 lb beef brisket, dry rubbed it with a Traeger mix and let it sit overnight. Yesterday I set the Traeger for 225, put the brisket in a foil pan and cooked it about 6-7 hours to about 125 degrees. I was very disappointed with how dry it was. Edible but just. I’m thinking maybe I over-trimmed it and maybe the foil pan was a bad idea? But you guys know best - help!

Being a newbie, I run into things I am puzzled by all the time. A couple of days ago I trimmed a 6 lb beef brisket, dry rubbed it with a Traeger mix and let it sit overnight. Yesterday I set the Traeger for 225, put the brisket in a foil pan and cooked it about 6-7 hours to about 125 degrees. I was very disappointed with how dry it was. Edible but just. I’m thinking maybe I over-trimmed it and maybe the foil pan was a bad idea? But you guys know best - help!

Hi Aardvark and welcome to the forum! My first brisket on the Traeger was roughly the same size and I had a similar turn out. I smoked it at 225 degrees until it hit 160 degrees and then wrapped with butcher paper. I cranked it up to 275 the rest of the cook. It had good flavor, good bark but mine was on the dry side. After talking with a few buddies that are more experienced we came to the conclusion that sometimes the smaller cuts of brisket don't have enough fat to render. Another suggestion given to me was to try and wrap it with foil at 160 and add some beef broth. I'm hoping to try another brisket with in the next week and I'll certainly report back on the cook.

What pellets were you using by the way?