Silverton RTD Replacement Help

mnbbq

New member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
Minnesota
Grill
Silverton
I've got a defective RTD probe in my Silverton. Traeger has sent me a new probe but so far the have been unable to give me any sort of diagrams or instructions as to how to replace it in my Silverton. They keep sending me information that is for other models of grills and not the Silverton. Anyone here have any experience with making this repair?
 

briansmith

New member
Joined
Nov 16, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Los Angeles
Grill
Silverton
I've got a defective RTD probe in my Silverton. Traeger has sent me a new probe but so far the have been unable to give me any sort of diagrams or instructions as to how to replace it in my Silverton. They keep sending me information that is for other models of grills and not the Silverton. Anyone here have any experience with making this repair?
Hi @mnbbq, I was wondering if you had any luck? Traeger sent me a new RTD due a defective one and the instructions clearly aren't for the model. It seems much harder to replace on the Silverton as the wires aren't easily accessible. So far I've started to remove the bottom metal sheet from beneath in the storage cabinet below the grill but it seems like it's going to be VERY difficult to feed the new RTD wires through to the controller.

Did you have any luck? I'm planning to call Traeger tomorrow.
 
OP
OP
M

mnbbq

New member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
Minnesota
Grill
Silverton
Hi @mnbbq, I was wondering if you had any luck? Traeger sent me a new RTD due a defective one and the instructions clearly aren't for the model. It seems much harder to replace on the Silverton as the wires aren't easily accessible. So far I've started to remove the bottom metal sheet from beneath in the storage cabinet below the grill but it seems like it's going to be VERY difficult to feed the new RTD wires through to the controller.

Did you have any luck? I'm planning to call Traeger tomorrow.
You’re on the right track. I disassembled the bottom of the hopper to get at the wiring. You have to unbundle most of it to figure out which wires are for the RTD probe. To get the wires for the new probe connected I loosened the old probe, cut the wires, then spliced the wires for the new probe to the old wires and used them to pull the new wires through to the controller box. I took lots of pictures of everything before I started so I knew how to bundle everything back up once I got the new probe wires run. Definitely not a user friendly design and Traeger customer service was zero help after 5 calls. They have no idea about almost everything related to the Silverton. It’s like that model just doesn’t exist to them. Good luck!
 

Walleye Hunter

Active member
Joined
Aug 29, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
53
Points
28
Location
PA
Grill
Pro 575
I don't know how the Silverton is set up but my Pro 575 has that probe on the right side of the grill and feeds up between the pellet/control box into place. I taped a piece of thread to my old probe and pulled it down through the bottom then taped the thread to the new probe and pulled it up. I had to remove the top two screws of that hopper box and push it back as far as I could with the bottom screws still in. After I got the probe close but not quite in I reached in with a looong screwdriver and was able to push it into place. Rather than pull the wiring harness apart I left the old probe in place and intact. As it turns out the probe was not my problem anyway and I need a new controller, which I am waiting on.
 

briansmith

New member
Joined
Nov 16, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Los Angeles
Grill
Silverton
You’re on the right track. I disassembled the bottom of the hopper to get at the wiring. You have to unbundle most of it to figure out which wires are for the RTD probe. To get the wires for the new probe connected I loosened the old probe, cut the wires, then spliced the wires for the new probe to the old wires and used them to pull the new wires through to the controller box. I took lots of pictures of everything before I started so I knew how to bundle everything back up once I got the new probe wires run. Definitely not a user friendly design and Traeger customer service was zero help after 5 calls. They have no idea about almost everything related to the Silverton. It’s like that model just doesn’t exist to them. Good luck!
Hi @mnbbq ,

Thanks for the tips, yeah they sure do bundle everything tight with zip ties. Thank you for the advice on splicing the wires - great idea! - I was hesitant about cutting the wires for the old probe but it's pretty clear that it's the only way to feed the new probe wires through.

Gonna tackle it this weekend and hopefully everything will go smoothly
 

PMC

New member
Joined
Aug 10, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Portland
Grill
Silverton 620
I had to replace the RTD probe as well on my month old Silverton 620. No info to be found anywhere on how to go about it. After removing the bottom of the hopper bin and removing the screws to the control panel I had access to the RDT wire. I unplugged it from the control panel and looped a piece of wire through to hole in the yellow plug. I pulled it up to the slot in the side of the grill and gently pulled it through the slot and up and out.
I ran the wire through the hole in the new RTD plug and pulled it back the other way and gently tugged and tugged until it came through the slot in the side of the grill. Plug it in the the controller and put everything back together. Hopefully it reads the correct temperature because I haven't been able to reach 500 degrees with this grill. 🤞
 

Latest Discussions

Top