Help! Ironwood won’t connect to phone

Ironwood650

New member
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Ontario
Grill
Ironwood650
Hello, I’m new to traeger grills. I was really excited to get my new ironwood650 until I set it up. I first noticed that the grill will not sit right in the bottom position, the left ledge That the grill sits on is bent a little downwards while the right side is flat. When a little weight is applied to the grill it sits flat so I decided not to worry about it. I then tried to connect to wifire. I’m on my second DAY now trying to connect it. I have tried everything!

The grill itself seems to be connecting to my wifi but the phone won’t find the grill. I go through all the steps of connecting it.

  1. Open the app
  2. Choose “connect the traeger to wifire
  3. Click “I agree”
  4. Click “continue” to connect to my wifi
  5. Scan the qr code ... I have also tried entering the info manually
  6. Enter wifi password
  7. Choose “join” when it asks me if the traeger can connect to wifi (usually this comes up twice)
  8. Nickname my grill and click “continue”
  9. Start process all over again because the app automatically goes back to the first page with the choice of “connect to traeger wifire”
When I try to do the connecting over again it tells me that I can’t do it and I have to forget the wifi network on the traeger. I go to the control panel and “forget network” and try again only to get the same results. The signal strength ranges from -61 outside to -40 inside.

Here is what I have tried so far... I have tried most of these more than once.

  1. Moved the grill inside so it’s about 10’ from my router.
  2. Rename 2.4g and 5g
  3. Shut off 5g on my router so I only have 2.4g.
  4. Disconnected my security system and google from wifi
  5. Reloaded the app on my phone.
  6. Restarted my phone
  7. Restarted the grill (unplugged etc)
  8. Gone through this several times.
  9. Tried my wife’s iPad, my old iPhone, and my iPad.
It seems like the grill is connecting to the wifi but the app isn’t connecting to the grill. I am using an iPhone.

If anyone has any suggestions I’m open to trying them. I’m at my wits end with this. I picked up some ribs and pork tenderloin on my way home with the grill yesterday and they are still sitting in the fridge with nothing done to them and I’m sitting here on the couch frustrated that my $1600 grill won’t work.

Thank you.
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #2

Ironwood650

New member
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Ontario
Grill
Ironwood650
Update:

The customer service person said my grill needed to update. I am supposed to turn it on and leave it in standby mode for 12h.

How does the grill get the update without being connected to wifi? Anyways, here is what I have done...

  1. Plug the grill in
  2. Flip the red switch on the back
The controller is still off but the ring around the power button is lit up. Is this what they mean by standby mode? Should I connect my grill to my wifi and put it back in standby mode or just leave it the way it is not connected to wifi in standby mode.

Thanks.
 

bigproppa3

New member
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Atlanta, GA
Grill
Ironwood 650
Hello, I’m new to traeger grills. I was really excited to get my new ironwood650 until I set it up. I first noticed that the grill will not sit right in the bottom position, the left ledge That the grill sits on is bent a little downwards while the right side is flat. When a little weight is applied to the grill it sits flat so I decided not to worry about it. I then tried to connect to wifire. I’m on my second DAY now trying to connect it. I have tried everything!

The grill itself seems to be connecting to my wifi but the phone won’t find the grill. I go through all the steps of connecting it.

  1. Open the app
  2. Choose “connect the traeger to wifire
  3. Click “I agree”
  4. Click “continue” to connect to my wifi
  5. Scan the qr code ... I have also tried entering the info manually
  6. Enter wifi password
  7. Choose “join” when it asks me if the traeger can connect to wifi (usually this comes up twice)
  8. Nickname my grill and click “continue”
  9. Start process all over again because the app automatically goes back to the first page with the choice of “connect to traeger wifire”
When I try to do the connecting over again it tells me that I can’t do it and I have to forget the wifi network on the traeger. I go to the control panel and “forget network” and try again only to get the same results. The signal strength ranges from -61 outside to -40 inside.

Here is what I have tried so far... I have tried most of these more than once.

  1. Moved the grill inside so it’s about 10’ from my router.
  2. Rename 2.4g and 5g
  3. Shut off 5g on my router so I only have 2.4g.
  4. Disconnected my security system and google from wifi
  5. Reloaded the app on my phone.
  6. Restarted my phone
  7. Restarted the grill (unplugged etc)
  8. Gone through this several times.
  9. Tried my wife’s iPad, my old iPhone, and my iPad.
It seems like the grill is connecting to the wifi but the app isn’t connecting to the grill. I am using an iPhone.

If anyone has any suggestions I’m open to trying them. I’m at my wits end with this. I picked up some ribs and pork tenderloin on my way home with the grill yesterday and they are still sitting in the fridge with nothing done to them and I’m sitting here on the couch frustrated that my $1600 grill won’t work.

Thank you.
Hello - I think we both must have contacted support at the same time, I was told the same thing: the firmware needs to update :-( I ask the same question? How will it update if it cannot connect to my network or the Internet and I was told that it could contact via the cloud to Traeger servers, now if this is true (device that's not on your network, wifi or otherwise) can reach out to the Traeger datacenter and grab a firmware update? I call bs on that one. It's been over 24 hours with the thing on and it hasn't updated in the least. I however have downgraded my level of patience. Tried everything you did + an attempt to join via an Android device (as was recommended on Reddit) and it connects but I can't control anything and I still don't see it on my network at all. I'm just glad to know I'm not the only one dealing with this and I hope we can get it resolved quickly. Also, I think the standby mode is when the unit is plugged in and the silver button is illuminated but the screen is off. I believe that's standby mode - I'm in it now on my 650 to see if this firmware update can actually occur.
 
Last edited:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #4

Ironwood650

New member
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Ontario
Grill
Ironwood650
Hello - I think we both must have contacted support at the same time, I was told the same thing: the firmware needs to update :-( I ask the same question? How will it update if it cannot connect to my network or the Internet and I was told that it could contact via the cloud to Traeger servers, now if this is true (device that's not on your network, wifi or otherwise) can reach out to the Traeger datacenter and grab a firmware update? I call bs on that one. It's been over 24 hours with the thing on and it hasn't updated in the least. I however have downgraded my level of patience. Tried everything you did + an attempt to join via an Android device (as was recommended on Reddit) and it connects but I can't control anything and I still don't see it on my network at all. I'm just glad to know I'm not the only one dealing with this and I hope we can get it resolved quickly. Also, I think the standby mode is when the unit is plugged in and the silver button is illuminated but the screen is off. I believe that's standby mode - I'm in it now on my 650 to see if this firmware update can actually occur.
I just had mine on standby connected to my wifi overnight and got nothing. I’m still running the 01.00.11 and I’m supposed to be at 01.01.01 ... at least that’s what I was told. I really don’t think it will connect without wifi. I can’t say for sure but a grill that can’t be more than 10’ from my router to get wifi probably isn’t going to be able to pick something up from “the cloud”. Please let me know if yours actually updates. I was going to call back today but I think it’s a waste of time. I’m going to wait until Monday. I might just start using it today.
 

bigproppa3

New member
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Atlanta, GA
Grill
Ironwood 650
I absolutely refuse to use it until this is resolved - for a manufacturer who is a leader in this industry this is absurd. I've been watching and waiting for months for this to work itself out and live up to the Traeger name but it hasn't thus far and now I have a 200+ # grill that I could have paid half the money for if all I wanted was a pellet smoker. I've escalated to the place I purchased it from and will get them involved on my behalf - life is way to short to accept mediocrity. I am also running 01.00.11 and was told that it should be 01.01.02, you'd think they'd plan for a better way for these firmware updates to take place - all it takes is a little USB port on the controller board. Geez. Good luck to you...
 

CampWhatnot

Active member
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
246
Reaction score
58
Points
28
Location
Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Grill
Traeger Ironwood 650
Be sure that your phone is connected to the 2.4 GH band of your router and not the 5g band. Both,the Traeger and cell phone must be connected to 2.4 g. For what's it is worth iOS connects easier then android initially, then the android phones will then connect easily. Been my experience at least. Cheers.
 
Last edited:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #7

Ironwood650

New member
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Ontario
Grill
Ironwood650
I have the iPhone and it still won’t connect. I was told by customer service it needed a software update. I’ve been waiting for it to update for two days now.
 

bigproppa3

New member
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Atlanta, GA
Grill
Ironwood 650
Be sure that your phone is connected to the 2.4 GH band of your router and not the 5g band. Both,the Traeger and cell phone must be connected to 2.4 g. For what's it is worth iOS connects easier then android initially, then the android phones will then connect easily. Been my experience at least. Cheers.
Actually, it was easier for me on the Android yet it still doesn't work. I think I just got a lemon too. Processing warranty return.
540541
 

pkitch

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
30
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Location
Atlanta
Grill
Ironwood 650
I have the exact same issue, just got mine yesterday, super excited and now very deflated that I cannot use the main feature I bought it for...

I have also setup second network set only to 2.4ghz no other devices on that network.

iPhone connects, grill connects - all seems to go perfectly but then seemingly at the end of the process it bounces back to start of the wizard as if nothing happened. I have also told it to forget network, unplugged it, deleted App and reloaded etc etc etc to no avail.

Really hoping this is resolved otherwise it will have to go back, this is the reason I bought this brand.
 

CampWhatnot

Active member
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
246
Reaction score
58
Points
28
Location
Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Grill
Traeger Ironwood 650
I have the iPhone and it still won’t connect. I was told by customer service it needed a software update. I’ve been waiting for it to update for two days now.
I'm not convinced waiting for the firmware update is the issue. I'm guessing a stall tactic. I have had mine since April 1 with the old firmware and yes I had to try to connect a few times and it connected to iOS easier than android. I have also tried to connect other devices since the newest firmware with the same issues but finally it connected. Also be sure your network signal is strong. Remember the lower the db signal the stronger.
 

pkitch

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
30
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Location
Atlanta
Grill
Ironwood 650
I'm not convinced waiting for the firmware update is the issue. I'm guessing a stall tactic. I have had mine since April 1 with the old firmware and yes I had to try to connect a few times and it connected to iOS easier than android. I have also tried to connect other devices since the newest firmware with the same issues but finally it connected. Also be sure your network signal is strong. Remember the lower the db signal the stronger.
I have now spoken to them and they'll be sending me a new controller with the new firmware (2+ week wait), so it will remain to be seen if this resolves. They also advised me I cannot return it as its been assembled!!

Grill is approx 25' from the router and shows 4 bars on the grill display and hovers around -50. I see the grill on the network so the issue isn't with connection protocols, it's with what (doesn't) happen post connection...
 
Last edited:

CampWhatnot

Active member
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
246
Reaction score
58
Points
28
Location
Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Grill
Traeger Ironwood 650
I have now spoken to them and they'll be sending me a new controller with the new firmware (2+ week wait), so it will remain to be seen if this resolves. They also advised me I cannot return it as its been assembled!!

Grill is approx 25' from the router and shows 4 bars on the grill display and hovers around -50. I see the grill on the network so the issue isn't with connection protocols, it's with what (doesn't) happen post connection...
Signal strength is good
 

BrixeyBBQ

New member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Missouri
Grill
Pro 780
Having similar issues. A rep told me the middlelayer that the grill connects to was having issues and to expect a fix by the end of the month... Why release an update that breaks key functionality.
 

Broke1le

New member
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Norfolk
Grill
Ironwood 650
I went through much of the same trouble getting my 650 to connect as well. Something I read though about wifi analytics said it may be connecting to a stronger signal say from a neighbor's wifi if on the same channel. Go into your router settings and find a channel with less traffic, might help out. I bought mine 7/3 and couldn't get it to connect till 7/7 after trying multiple devices and different networks. Finally that Saturday morning it held my network in the controller but didn't finish the setup, so I forgot the network, tried again and it went through finally. Been working great since. Use the grill 3-4 days a week now.
 

pkitch

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
30
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Location
Atlanta
Grill
Ironwood 650
I went through much of the same trouble getting my 650 to connect as well. Something I read though about wifi analytics said it may be connecting to a stronger signal say from a neighbor's wifi if on the same channel. Go into your router settings and find a channel with less traffic, might help out. I bought mine 7/3 and couldn't get it to connect till 7/7 after trying multiple devices and different networks. Finally that Saturday morning it held my network in the controller but didn't finish the setup, so I forgot the network, tried again and it went through finally. Been working great since. Use the grill 3-4 days a week now.
This is good to hear, gives me some hope. I also tried a couple of different channels no luck, I only have two devices registered on it, the grill and my iPhone (when trying to set it up). The grill holds the connection and I see a tiny bot of traffic to and from it, but still the App won't see/connect to the grill...
 

pkitch

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
30
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Location
Atlanta
Grill
Ironwood 650
Having similar issues. A rep told me the middlelayer that the grill connects to was having issues and to expect a fix by the end of the month... Why release an update that breaks key functionality.
I am fairly certain there is a bug in combination with the older firmware 1.00.11 that I am stuck on and this version of the App... If they fix via the App by end of the month, that will be faster than their current proposed hardware swap. Thanks for the info.
 

jscoleman

New member
Joined
Jul 25, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
California
Grill
Ironwood 650
Sadly I too am having this issue on the 1.00.11 firmware. Support is going to send me a new controller.. not a good first experience with Traeger I must say.
 

b4tn

New member
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Maryland
Grill
Ironwood 650
I was just getting ready to post this exact same issue but searched first and found this. I am in the same boat and am beyond frustrated! Being an IT guy by profession made the calls to support even more painful. 3 times now I have spent an hour or two on the phone going over the steps and the "try this's". Support has proven to be absolutely worthless. The first guy said I needed to put the grill in standby by holding the button for 3 seconds, flip the switch on the back, and unplug it, then let it sit for 24 hours so it can get the update....... with no power...... Of course I left it in normal standby over night with no updates to my 1.00.11 firmware. The next day they started going through the steps again and I told them I have already been through all this and he said to try to connect with a computer like a laptop or tablet. I got out my windows tablet and he said install the app. I explained to him that its a windows tablet and he assured me there is a windows version of the app. When I explained to him that the google play store is for android devices he told me to try and install from the apple store!!!! really!!!?? He asked for my grill UID and said it was not registered on their side so he completed the registration and asked me to go to standby for 24 hours again. He said if it didnt work by tomorrow call back and they will escalate. I called back the third day, yesterday, to escalate and she started walking me through the general steps again!!!! I told her I have already been through this several times and I need it escalated NOW! She then informed me that there was no record of my calls to support WTF!!! When she started walking me through the general steps I stopped her and basically read back to her the list she was reading from. She said "oh it sounds like you have already tried everything" and put me on hold for a bit then came back and took down all my info, SW versions, phone version, etc and said that they are escalating the issue and someone will contact me. I will be calling back again tonight and I bet it was another blow off. At this point I dont care if I dont like the app I paid $1200 for a grill It should work as advertised. At the very least I want the firmware updates.
 
Last edited:

jscoleman

New member
Joined
Jul 25, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
California
Grill
Ironwood 650
I was just getting ready to post this exact same issue but searched first and found this. I am in the same boat and am beyond frustrated! Being an IT guy by profession made the calls to support even more painful. 3 times now I have spent an hour or two on the phone going over the steps and the "try this's". Support has proven to be absolutely worthless. The first guy said I needed to put the grill in standby by holding the button for 3 seconds, flip the switch on the back, and unplug it, then let it sit for 24 hours so it can get the update....... with no power...... Of course I left it in normal standby over night with no updates to my 1.00.11 firmware. The next day they started going through the steps again and I told them I have already been through all this and he said to try to connect with a computer like a laptop or tablet. I got out my windows tablet and he said install the app. I explained to him that its a windows tablet and he assured me there is a windows version of the app. When I explained to him that the google play store is for android devices he told me to try and install from the apple store!!!! really!!!?? He asked for my grill UID and said it was not registered on their side so he completed the registration and asked me to go to standby for 24 hours again. He said if it didnt work by tomorrow call back and they will escalate. I called back the third day yesterday to escalate and she started walking me through the general steps again!!!! I told her I have already been through this several times and I need it escalated NOW! She then informed me that there was no record of my calls to support WTF!!! When she started walking me through the general steps I stopped her and basically read back to her the list she was reading from. She said "oh it sounds like you have already tried everything" and put me on hold for a bit then came back and took down all my info, SW versions, phone version, etc and said that they are escalating the issue and someone will contact me. I will be calling back again tonight and I bet it was another blow off. At this point I dont care if I dont like the app I paid $1200 for a grill It should work as advertised. At the very least I want the firmware updates.
I feel your pain.

Out of curiosity what firewall/router and AP's (if applicable) do you use?

Unfortunately Traeger went as cheap as they could with the wireless modules on their controllers (ESP32-WROVER). These cost ~$5 and have known wireless issues, search for "ESP32 wifi issue" if you're curious. Another interesting tidbit, the modules antenna is directional and is pointing outwards from the controller (towards you if standing in front of the grill). This explains the extremely poor wireless performance as I imagine most grills are facing away from the house.. the source of most wireless access points.


To save you some time (I too am an IT professional), here are the steps I've tried to get the controller online:
  • Create simple SSID "traeger" with simple 8 digit alphanumeric password
  • Create firewall rules to explicitly allow all traffic to and from the traeger
  • Disable all 5ghz wireless networks
  • Packet capture traffic from grill (i can upload the pcap later if interested), it communicates with an AWS server but traffic is encrypted (also pulls time from an NTP server)
  • Connect grill to iPhone wireless hotspot (AT&T)
  • Connect grill to wireless hotspot router (verizon)
  • Connect grill to wireless hotspot router (T-Mobile)
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20mhz) with WPA2/AES
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20mhz) with WPA2/TKIP
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20mhz) with WPA2/AES+TKIP
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20/40mhz) with WPA2/AES
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20/40mhz) with WPA2/TKIP
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20/40mhz) with WPA2/AES+TKIP
  • Use legacy wireless router (linksys wrt54g stock firmware) connected directly to ISP equipment with firewall off
  • Run 75ft network cable outside with legacy router directly in front of grill
  • Setup grill on Android phone, iPad, iPhone and Android Studio (emulator)
  • Wifi channels 1, 6 and 11
Demand they send you a new controller, they supposedly have stock in Washington (state). Confirm it will ship with a newer firmware as that may be the issue.

596
 
Last edited:

b4tn

New member
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Maryland
Grill
Ironwood 650
I feel your pain.

Out of curiosity what firewall/router and AP's (if applicable) do you use?

Unfortunately Traeger went as cheap as they could with the wireless modules on their controllers (ESP32-WROVER). These cost ~$5 and have known wireless issues, search for "ESP32 wifi issue" if you're curious. Another interesting tidbit, the modules antenna is directional and is pointing outwards from the controller (towards you if standing in front of the grill). This explains the extremely poor wireless performance as I imagine most grills are facing away from the house.. the source of most wireless access points.


To save you some time (I too am an IT professional), here are the steps I've tried to get the controller online:
  • Create simple SSID "traeger" with simple 8 digit alphanumeric password
  • Create firewall rules to explicitly allow all traffic to and from the traeger
  • Disable all 5ghz wireless networks
  • Packet capture traffic from grill (i can upload the pcap later if interested), it communicates with an AWS server but traffic is encrypted (also pulls time from an NTP server)
  • Connect grill to iPhone wireless hotspot (AT&T)
  • Connect grill to wireless hotspot router (verizon)
  • Connect grill to wireless hotspot router (T-Mobile)
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20mhz) with WPA2/AES
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20mhz) with WPA2/TKIP
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20mhz) with WPA2/AES+TKIP
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20/40mhz) with WPA2/AES
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20/40mhz) with WPA2/TKIP
  • Connect to 2.4ghz wifi network (20/40mhz) with WPA2/AES+TKIP
  • Use legacy wireless router (linksys wrt54g stock firmware) connected directly to ISP equipment with firewall off
  • Run 75ft network cable outside with legacy router directly in front of grill
  • Setup grill on Android phone, iPad, iPhone and Android Studio (emulator)
Demand they send you a new controller, they supposedly have stock in Washington (state). Confirm it will ship with a newer firmware as that may be the issue.

View attachment 596
LOL, I tried pretty much all the same except for packet capture and connecting to a hotspot. I dont think it will make a difference with the hotspot but I will try that after work today. I am convinced it is a problem with the firmware version and the current app. Connection does not seem to be an issue. As mentioned before the grill is connected with good signal to my router and the router is right next to the grill. My wife thought I was nuts running extended cables to the deck for the router lol. I tried to keep it as dumb as possible for support and have no out of the ordinary gear in the mix at the moment. I was connected using a netgear WN3000RP extender but decided to remove that from the mix as well until its working so am currently connecting direct to an xfinity X1 router.
 
Top