Brisket Flat, failed hard.

lavaman40

Media
Reaction score
Grill
Pro Series 34
Doing a flat brisket today 5.5lbs for the wife and I. Injected it with beef none broth, salt and peppwr rub only, I set the pro 34 to 225 and let her rip. Something was wrong when it hit 5 hours and was still only at 125 degrees. I didnt have a grate ambient probe as I read to just go by the temp of the meat. Took 8hrs to hit 165, wrapped it with waygu talo in butcher paper and its still only 182 and its now on hour 10. When i took it off to wrap it was hard as a rock and dry on top (fat side down). I am no pro but I have made great brisket flat before but this is embarrassing. This is going to be a 15-16 hour cook for a 5.5lb brisket flat. It's definately ruined but i am comitted now, might as well finish to 203 and use for chilly or something, thats if it doesnt end up a boat anchor. Glad I had a backup, grilled up some steaks on the webber instead. Feel Defeated right now, no idea what i did wrong. It was my first attempt at a brisket on the traeger.

Last edited:
My guess is the temp was too low knowing this smoker is about 30 degrees lower than the set temp. Should have just used an ambient temp probe, pretty sure that was my problem. I was giving the pro 34 the benefit of the doubt. Never again, ambient probe will be a must moving forward.

Confirmed drier than hell, no bend, hard as a rock. Man, I need to turn in my man card lol.
1000008414.jpg
1000008416.jpg

I know the feeling and we have all been there with a failure or two. I’d get a temp sensor you can leave in the chamber and do some testing at various temp settings. I have a ThermoWorks Flame that is pretty accurate. As for the flat: chopped brisket sandwiches with BBQ sauce, some home made slaw & pickles are in your future. Lemonade from Lemons, my friend.
-PH