Brand new pro 22 with temp issues

traeger_tim

New member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
millville nj
Grill
pro 22
hello everyone im new here just purchased my first traeger through qvc. has a blue control panel. i tried to season it yesterday and it would only reach 420 for the temp it was a little windy maybe 10 mph just to note. it slowly dwindled back down to 389 ish. finally put some burgers on it and temp wouldnt really go over 350 for the entire half hour i was grilling. any reason for a brand new grill with brand new pellets to do this? what do i do?
 

Dzacco

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
51
Reaction score
12
Points
8
Location
Denver, CO USA
Grill
Pro 570
hello everyone im new here just purchased my first traeger through qvc. has a blue control panel. i tried to season it yesterday and it would only reach 420 for the temp it was a little windy maybe 10 mph just to note. it slowly dwindled back down to 389 ish. finally put some burgers on it and temp wouldnt really go over 350 for the entire half hour i was grilling. any reason for a brand new grill with brand new pellets to do this? what do i do?
Yours has a chimney cap like my 650 so just screw the chimney cap down until it reaches the temp you need. The new firmware for the D2 controller will enable your grill to go to 500*.
 
OP
OP
T

traeger_tim

New member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
millville nj
Grill
pro 22
ah really? i screwed the cap all the way down to where they set the locknut at. should i move the locknut up higher to lower the cap more?
 

Dzacco

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
51
Reaction score
12
Points
8
Location
Denver, CO USA
Grill
Pro 570
ah really? i screwed the cap all the way down to where they set the locknut at. should i move the locknut up higher to lower the cap more?
Mine had a jamb nut below the cap bracket. I lowered the bottom nut then screwed the cap down. I have the cap adjusted to roughly 1/4" above the chimney to the bottom of the cap. It came with about an inch gap.
 
OP
OP
T

traeger_tim

New member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
millville nj
Grill
pro 22
Mine had a jamb nut below the cap bracket. I lowered the bottom nut then screwed the cap down.
yeah thats what im talking about. just raise that to get the cap to go lower? ill try that tonight thanks!
 
OP
OP
T

traeger_tim

New member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
millville nj
Grill
pro 22
Mine had a jamb nut below the cap bracket. I lowered the bottom nut then screwed the cap down. I have the cap adjusted to roughly 1/4" above the chimney to the bottom of the cap. It came with about an inch gap.
I lowered the cap about 6 more threads and the heat shot up to about 390ish once I threw some burgers on it. It only reached 420 at a preheat though for about 10 minutes. I'll try to lower it a little more and smoke something again later and update
 

jaw1953

New member
Joined
Apr 29, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Huntsville, AL
Grill
Timberline
Yours has a chimney cap like my 650 so just screw the chimney cap down until it reaches the temp you need. The new firmware for the D2 controller will enable your grill to go to 500*.
Dzacco, probably a dumb question but I got the Pro 22 from QVC also, you mentioned the firmware update for D2 controller. Since my grill does not have wifi how would it receive updates.
 

Dzacco

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
51
Reaction score
12
Points
8
Location
Denver, CO USA
Grill
Pro 570
Dzacco, probably a dumb question but I got the Pro 22 from QVC also, you mentioned the firmware update for D2 controller. Since my grill does not have wifi how would it receive updates.
If you don't have wifi you'll have to contact Traeger.
 

drich

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
35
Reaction score
10
Points
8
Location
Montana
Grill
Pro 575
Dzacco, probably a dumb question but I got the Pro 22 from QVC also, you mentioned the firmware update for D2 controller. Since my grill does not have wifi how would it receive updates.
That was my question also. Too the best of my knowledge the Pro 22’s are not WiFi capable. Am I missing something?
 

MikeyR

Active member
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
205
Reaction score
47
Points
28
Location
Calgary
Grill
Ironwood 650
I don't believe there are any updates to Traeger grill models pre-WiFire. You could upgrade your controller from the Elite to the Pro and that was about it.
 

gfb

New member
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Orange County, CA
Grill
Pro 22
I have the exact same grill purchased through qvc at the same time and first time traeger user....with exact same issue....to clarify after reading: the chimney cap needs to be adjusted down? Mine has a lcoked nit as well. The further down you close the gap the hotter? It took me about 30 minutes to cook burgers tonight and i dont think the grill reachd even 430 for at least 20 minutes and then fluctuated back in the 380 range for the majority of the time. Thanks in advance for entertaining something you already answered
 
OP
OP
T

traeger_tim

New member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
millville nj
Grill
pro 22
hello everyone im new here just purchased my first traeger through qvc. has a blue control panel. i tried to season it yesterday and it would only reach 420 for the temp it was a little windy maybe 10 mph just to note. it slowly dwindled back down to 389 ish. finally put some burgers on it and temp wouldnt really go over 350 for the entire half hour i was grilling. any reason for a brand new grill with brand new pellets to do this? what do i do?

Update. Traeger still having issues holding heat temps or getting past 380. What to do?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200517_103527.jpg
    IMG_20200517_103527.jpg
    283.7 KB · Views: 25

dunawayfamily

Active member
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
484
Reaction score
142
Points
43
Location
King County, WA State, US
Grill
PRO 780

Latest Discussions

Top