Pellet efficiency

fooj

Reaction score
Grill
Select Pro
I'm new to pellet BBQing, and have owned my Traeger Select Pro for about a month. I'm loving the results; however, I can see that using the Traeger has the highest fuel costs of any type of cooking I will do (including using the kitchen oven, crock pot, gas grill, pressure cooking, etc.) With the Select Pro having such a large food capacity, I find myself making big batches of food at a time to "justify" the cost of running it. I'm trying to decide if the Select Pro is right for me compared to some other model of Traeger, and a factor in that decision may be fuel costs. My question is this -- how much does pellet usage vary given the same recipe, and the following factors:

Size/volume of grill -- assuming the same controller generation, will a smaller grill use proportionally fewer pellets on the same cooking assignment?
Controller technology -- how much more efficient is the new D2 digital controller on pellets compared to the old, click dial knob controllers (like on the Select Pro)?
Any other other factors affecting pellet efficiency?

Retaining the heat in the grill should help, Sealing the lid in my grill made a big difference in stablizing the temp, it only fluctuates 2-3 degrees from the target temp during the cook. I figure that this must be optimizing the pellet use

Retaining the heat in the grill should help, Sealing the lid in my grill made a big difference in stablizing the temp, it only fluctuates 2-3 degrees from the target temp during the cook. I figure that this must be optimizing the pellet use

How did you seal your lid? Mine seems to sit very flush, but it is only 2 weeks old...

Has anyone seen a cart showing pellet usage / degree / hour / grill size? In attempting to manage my pellet inventory it would be nice knowing how much I have, to be able to predict how much I can expect to use for a given recipe knowing the time & temp.