New to Traeger

ctufieldops

Reaction score
Grill
Silverton 620
Hi all, I'm new to Trager and have cooked a few times on it to get familiar cooking with pellets. Used to smoke with a Weber Smokey Mountain kettle, which I loved. Question to all, the last two times I cooked Baby Backs on the Silverton 620 they came out tough and not "fall off the bone". I followed the Traeger 3-2-1 rule for ribs and failed at producing the perfect rib. My 3-2-1 cook was more like a 4-4-1 and could not get the internal temps up to 205. What am I doing wrong?? The 185 start temp for 3 hours seems too low, should I bump that temp to 250 for the first 3 hours?? Thanks ahead of time for all answers.
SK

The 3-2-1 is only a guideline. You really need to cook based on internal temperatures until you know your grill and your proteins.

I cook unwrapped at 225 F actual temperature at grate level until the internal temperature reaches about 265-270F 165-170 F (correction, sorry) That will take around 3 hours, but cook based on temperature, not time.

I then wrap in foil, adding butter, brown sugar, and apple juice. It goes back on the grill until the temperature reaches 200-205F. If you are in a hurry, you can bump up the grill temp to 275 F, but leaving it at 225 F will insure the ribs are cooked long enough to be tender.

When you unwrap the ribs, steam will escape and the temperature will plummet. Thus, make sure you get up to your desired final temperature before unwrapping. Then sauce your ribs and put them back on the grill until the sauce has set.

I understand that in competition cooking, if ribs end up fall off the bone, they are considered overcooked and points are deducted, but if you and your family prefer them that way, then overcooking is fine.

Last edited: