Help! Ironwood won’t connect to phone

Ironwood650

Reaction score
Grill
Ironwood650
Hello, I’m new to traeger grills. I was really excited to get my new ironwood650 until I set it up. I first noticed that the grill will not sit right in the bottom position, the left ledge That the grill sits on is bent a little downwards while the right side is flat. When a little weight is applied to the grill it sits flat so I decided not to worry about it. I then tried to connect to wifire. I’m on my second DAY now trying to connect it. I have tried everything!

The grill itself seems to be connecting to my wifi but the phone won’t find the grill. I go through all the steps of connecting it.

1. Open the app
  2. Choose “connect the traeger to wifire
  3. Click “I agree”
  4. Click “continue” to connect to my wifi
  5. Scan the qr code ... I have also tried entering the info manually
  6. Enter wifi password
  7. Choose “join” when it asks me if the traeger can connect to wifi (usually this comes up twice)
  8. Nickname my grill and click “continue”
  9. Start process all over again because the app automatically goes back to the first page with the choice of “connect to traeger wifire”

When I try to do the connecting over again it tells me that I can’t do it and I have to forget the wifi network on the traeger. I go to the control panel and “forget network” and try again only to get the same results. The signal strength ranges from -61 outside to -40 inside.

Here is what I have tried so far... I have tried most of these more than once.

1. Moved the grill inside so it’s about 10’ from my router.
  2. Rename 2.4g and 5g
  3. Shut off 5g on my router so I only have 2.4g.
  4. Disconnected my security system and google from wifi
  5. Reloaded the app on my phone.
  6. Restarted my phone
  7. Restarted the grill (unplugged etc)
  8. Gone through this several times.
  9. Tried my wife’s iPad, my old iPhone, and my iPad.