Difference between priming auger an starting up.

Renegade626

New member
Joined
Dec 27, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Southern California
Grill
Traeger tailgater
In order for me to start up the traeger do I have to prime the auger every time? Or can I just set the temp on the controller an hit ignite to start it up? Thanks in advance.
 

Timmy

BBQ FEAST MASTER
Joined
Jul 5, 2020
Messages
1,550
Reaction score
1,098
Points
113
Location
Iowa
Grill
Pro 780, Bronson 20 , Char grill gasser, Char griller modified offset, Blackstone 3 burner griddle
After you prime it once it is good to go every time. UNLESS you purge and clean the auger tube, then you will have to prime the auger again.
 
OP
OP
R

Renegade626

New member
Joined
Dec 27, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Southern California
Grill
Traeger tailgater
After you prime it once it is good to go every time. UNLESS you purge and clean the auger tube, then you will have to prime the auger again.
Oooo ok thanks a lot. That’s what I was thinking to myself why would I have to prime it everytime if there’s pellets in the auger still.
 

Timmy

BBQ FEAST MASTER
Joined
Jul 5, 2020
Messages
1,550
Reaction score
1,098
Points
113
Location
Iowa
Grill
Pro 780, Bronson 20 , Char grill gasser, Char griller modified offset, Blackstone 3 burner griddle
Although, if you vacuum the pellets out of the firepot while cleaning. You will have to put back in what you vacuumed out. I just take out of the hopper to do this.
 

Slimpicker

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
1,862
Reaction score
1,419
Points
113
Location
stl mo
Grill
Pro 575 Bronze► OKJoe's Longhorn Combo► WeberQ Gasser ►Weber kettle► UDS ► Inkbird Sous Vide
Although, if you vacuum the pellets out of the firepot while cleaning. You will have to put back in what you vacuumed out. I just take out of the hopper to do this.

I don't even do that, it just takes the "ignite" cycle a little longer but it still works without adding pellets back.
But either way don't hurt nothing.
 

BobbyQ

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2020
Messages
59
Reaction score
28
Points
18
Location
SoCal
Grill
Ironwood 650
I don't even do that, it just takes the "ignite" cycle a little longer but it still works without adding pellets back.
But either way don't hurt nothing.
Same with me. There’s always enough in the “pipe” to get things going
 

OldMayfield

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
37
Reaction score
16
Points
8
Location
Southeast USA
Grill
Pro 780
I clear the augur and vacuum out the augur shaft (as well as the fire pot) every couple months or so. I’ve had trouble with dust build up interfering with ignition. After clearing and vacuuming the augur shaft and fire pot the augur must be primed.
 

Slimpicker

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
1,862
Reaction score
1,419
Points
113
Location
stl mo
Grill
Pro 575 Bronze► OKJoe's Longhorn Combo► WeberQ Gasser ►Weber kettle► UDS ► Inkbird Sous Vide
I clear the augur and vacuum out the augur shaft (as well as the fire pot) every couple months or so. I’ve had trouble with dust build up interfering with ignition. After clearing and vacuuming the augur shaft and fire pot the augur must be primed.

I bought this to cure that... https://www.oklahomajoes.com/pellet-bucket-kit (shop around for the best price, I only paid that $25)

Traeger pellets are the worst for dust
 

Slimpicker

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
1,862
Reaction score
1,419
Points
113
Location
stl mo
Grill
Pro 575 Bronze► OKJoe's Longhorn Combo► WeberQ Gasser ►Weber kettle► UDS ► Inkbird Sous Vide
Good idea Slim. You like this better than the Traeger buckets?

I use it only to sift... I use HD buckets for storage. Sift before you add to the hopper.
I've done a test with that, half full of Traeger pellets, half full of bear mountain... Traeger left a serious amount of dust in the bottom compared to Bear Mountain, (and I suspect a lot of other brands are also less dusty too)
 

Latest Discussions

Top