Pellets Charcoal Pellets vs Wood Pellets

Dcgunman

Reaction score
Grill
Century 885
I’m new to this wood pellet grilling technique. Very happy and satisfied so far. The last 30+ years I’ve used a gas grill. 2 Weber’s. Still have both. But before I purchased my 620 (now a 885) I smoked twice with a charcoal Brinkman cheap O. And both times my pork shoulder came out excellent with that charcoal flavor I was missing for so many years. The main reason I went with Traeger was because it is user friendly. I don’t have to tend to it and feed it charcoals and wood every 20-30 minutes like the Brinkman. Set it and forget it. Right?
So looking into the different pellet brands and flavor I noticed Pit Boss has 100% charcoal flavor pellets. Is this something new in the wood pellets? Then I saw a post, not here, about Royal Oak has a brand new 100% charcoal pellets coming soon. I’ve seen a few other brands with charcoal blended with wood pellets. Is there other brands out there that carry 100% charcoal pellets? Has anyone here used charcoal pellets and how does it compare? Do you get that charcoal smell and flavor? I’ve seen a couple reviews on YouTube. But I’d like to here from you guys. I don’t trust some of the YouTubers 100%. I use YouTube as a guide. Thx.

There was a post here a few months ago where someone tried those pellets and had some auger jams. I bought a bag but was afraid to use them after that.

I’ll see if I can find it or search “charcoal pellets” and see if it pops up.

I believe the consensus was to use them as a mix or in a smoke tube.

There was a post here a few months ago where someone tried those pellets and had some auger jams. I bought a bag but was afraid to use them after that.

I’ll see if I can find it or search “charcoal pellets” and see if it pops up.

I believe the consensus was to use them as a mix or in a smoke tube.